Blog Detail

Sukha Yoga's latest news


Anna Smit November 30, 2016 0 comments 0
Your invited to a sweet traditional Mantra session with Dhroeh. Stay after Mo’s class or join us after the class for this lovely event.
When: December 10, 2016
Where: Sukha Yoga, Ceintuurbaan 243
Price: donation based
Indian music
The word music in India means ‘Sangeeta’, which traditionally meant performing the art of singing, playing of instruments and dancing. Indian classical music originated from Vedic chants or Sama music. This music chiefly consisted of chanting of hymns in praise of the Vedic gods. The musical structure of the chants was characterized by descending order of notes,initially two to five which later was increased to seven notes. Gradually various developments took place and this culminated in the Raga tradition. The Raga (structure of melody) and Tala (structure of rhythm) are the two major characteristics of Indian Classical music. Tala is the pulse of Indian music. The term Tala is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘Tal’ which means to strike with palms. Early musicians may have employed claps or palm-strokes to mark time in dance and music which later developed into a complicated system of 108 talas of classical music. It is a time cycle that remains fixed through out a particular rendering. Tala, binds music together and offers a regularity that calms the mind. Raga is the basic scale or note pattern of a melody formed by selecting notes from the thirteen tonal intervals, conventionally established in the octave space.
Dhroeh Nankoe is an Indian singer and composer, as classical and light classical music concerns.

He lives in the Netherlands and has received more than 25 years of classical music tuition of the best music teachers in India (like Khan Bhandu Ustad, Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia, Zia Mohiuddin Dagar and Narain Prasad), by means of the most ancient
oral traditions.

In 1994 Dhroeh Nankoe was the first student in Europe to graduate on Indian singing and Indian music at the Conservatory of Rotterdam.

Read more

Leave your thought